Nail-biting for the now

Don’t be too put off by the title of this post, I am not actually going to break down whilst writing this (I hope). Honestly though, I thought I’d go for talking about the present moment, since I’ve already covered the past (you can kind of guess what will follow next, SPOILER ALERT: the future)

Removing all the boring mundane everyday obligations and focussing more on the events that actually possess some moments of interest. Firstly the week started off with Monday as always this was 100% effort with very little reward but after about 11am that feeling disappears and you forget that the weekend ever actually happened, which is a major sad face ūüė¶ The actual moment I’m getting to here happened at about precisely 6:45pm Tuesday evening, this I will call rewiring…

Arriving home on the 27th after work, de-stressing, eating and then setting myself up¬†for what could potentially be an exciting night (probably not in most cases). First of all I probably should mention that currently we’re having our bathroom re-fitted, the whole works: flooring, walls, electrics, showers, sinks and anything else you could think of really. This is important because it kind of leads to the most exciting event on Tuesday evening, so after the coming home routine, my Dad (chief DIY-er) is re-wiring for the fancy new electric shower I’m told we’re getting. A lot of the time I get asked to help with some of his ‘projects’ so I swiftly tried to avoid being a part of this one! Failure was the result. Yes I was roped into helping him connect wires through walls, under floors and then anywhere else that meant¬†they¬†were hidden within the chasms of our (still standing) home.¬†¬†Moving on to what I see as the more exciting part, yes this was me feeding wires into the very framework of the house and lets say after a few mishaps we got going, the aim was to get the cable down into the garage, which for all you wannabe electricians is where the main fuse board is. So there I was giving it a good push and shove (oh eh ;)), little did I or my Dad realise that we were actually above a more important and as my Mom would say ‘on show’ part of the house, this being the hallway (key feature right there).

Moving onwards and upwards which clearly juxtaposes where the wiring was supposed to be headed. Between us (me and my Dad) we managed to create a decent sized hole right in the middle of the hallway, obviously you can imagine I at this point was totally proud of the mass destruction we had caused, oh the thrills of a Tuesday evening (is this really what my life has come to, getting thrills from completely defacing our pretty good-looking home). At first we didn’t mention a word to my Mom who was clueless at this point, however I’m not sure it was the most discreet or avoidable of holes so eventually she found it and let’s say wasn’t too happy, that of course being a complete understatement!

To kind of summarise this happening I would firmly give it a 6 out of 10 for excitement and 10 out of 10 for making the ‘things I would not like to be doing when I get home from work’ list. Eventually we sorted the whole ‘issue’ even though we still don’t have a working shower system we managed to accomplish something. At least I think we did, until the pipe work has to go in.. Maybe next Tuesday will be as exciting as this.

Perhaps not!

This was not the only traumatic thing to happen to me this week, oh no. Ticket-gate was next, maybe not as anxiety filled as operation lets rewire the whole house, but still it was somewhere on the scale of memorable weekly events. Wednesday was the day it happened basically to put it to anyone else I left my new train ticket at home whilst travelling to work on the TRAIN! To me it was pretty traumatic, I had to get through the fucking ticket barrier of death with actually having a valid ticket… Dun… Dun.. Dun… How did I do this you may say? (Perhaps not?) Well the art of persuasion was on my side and that fact that I had a card which states ‘direct debit’ with a nice little mug shot of me included (Facebook profile picture before anyone teases). Luckily the guy to hand was pretty understanding it was either that or he really could not be arsed to deal with me at 8:50am on a Wednesday morning. I imagine him later sharing this rather pathetic story around some kind of lunch table or with his fellow colleagues whilst working during the day when next to no one but pensioners were around, one of those options but probably the most obvious result being that this was just a particularly regular event which was just going to slide his memory the very second the next ‘valid’ ticket went through the barrier.

Apologies for being a little boring this time around, I mean if I’m totally honest who actually has an exciting week 52 weeks a year, not me and neither does the rest of the world. Unless you’re a newsreader, where literally something shocking happens every day, like how this week I noticed that they mentioned how WOMEN were suffering from mental health problems. Just WOMEN. *Cough* *Cough* *Chokes¬†on air*¬†This to me just seems as bad if not worse as the whole ‘gender pay gap’ argument, I really hope they do realise that its everyone who is affected by this issue and not just women because they’re portrayed or stereotyped as being the most fragile. Definitely not! I won’t go on because my¬†view is obvious but still this annoyed me. Let’s not rant!

This [post] has made me happy and actually included all of the content I had planned, which is good. There is one more thing.. which I’m a little apprehensive about but I guess I should just say it otherwise it would be completely hypocritical of me. This week I decided to write a short story, which is still currently in progress and is probably utter shite but it’s the most I’ve ever written and it just happened completely naturally so I’ll leave you with the title and a bit of background, it’s called X Marks the Spot (very originally titled) and is about a recent love interest which never really went to plan. Hopefully if I can finish that and¬†be willing to type for that long, I may upload it depending on how I’m feeling.

So this is good-bye, here’s to another week of ‘fun’ little anxieties

 

LIAM OUT!

 

Leave a Reply

